Emory R. Rodgers

Leadership in Building Safety Fellowship

The Emory R. Rodgers Leadership in Building Safety Fellowship is awarded annually to a building safety professional who has embarked upon a demonstrated executive-level career path and wants to further develop leadership skills through an eligible executive development program.

The program must be sponsored or conducted by a higher education institution. The fellowship will afford up to $20,000听to cover the full cost of the educational program and the award recipient鈥檚 travel to and from the program.

Applications are now closed for the 2023 fellowship. Information on the 2024 fellowship will be available soon.


Emory R. Rodgers

Emory R. Rodgers spent more than four decades devoting himself to the building safety profession and to the creation and ongoing development of the International Codes. As a leader in the industry and in the Code Council community, he put forth unprecedented efforts in educating and preparing the next generation of building safety professionals.

During his lifetime, Emory was recognized by numerous organizations for his contributions to building safety, including the Virginia Building and Code Officials Association, American Institute of Architects and National Institute of Building Sciences. He also received the prestigious Bobby J. Fowler Award, recognizing his visionary leadership as a Past Presiding Officer of the Code Council. To commemorate his everlasting influence as a mentor and adviser, the International Code Council created the Emory R. Rodgers Leadership in Building Safety Fellowship.

Past Winners

JC Hudgison 鈥 2022 Award Recipient

Andre Jaen 鈥 2021 Award Recipient

Ron Clements – 2020 Award Recipient

Chris Landreth 鈥 2019 Award Recipient

Eligible Programs

An eligible program must be sponsored or conducted by a higher education institution but cannot be associated with a degree. Eligible programs include those hosted by higher education institutions that focus on executive-level training, strategic management, leadership development, and/or other similar concentrations. Candidates may submit any program that meets the criteria of 鈥渆ligible program鈥 as described above.

The following are examples of eligible programs. This list is not all-inclusive and is intended to illustrate examples of eligible programs only.

  • University of Minnesota 鈥
  • University of Iowa 鈥
  • Harvard University 鈥
  • Cornell University 鈥
  • Pepperdine University 鈥
  • Emory University 鈥
  • U.S. Fire Administration 鈥

Beyond covering the cost of the program, the Code Council is not involved in an eligible program鈥檚 curriculum or schedule.

Applicant Evaluation

The Code Council鈥檚 Professional Development Council (PDC) will serve as the body that initially evaluates all fellowship applications. Upon its review of all applications, the PDC will create a short list of its recommended award recipients and submit this short list through the CEO to the Executive Committee of the Board of Directors. The Executive Committee will then evaluate the PDC鈥檚 recommendations and select the final award recipient, if any.

The following evaluation criteria shall be taken into consideration by the PDC and subsequently by the Executive Committee during the evaluation process for each applicant:

  • The candidate鈥檚 possession of a minimum of two 好色App certifications and five years in a building safety profession.
  • The candidate鈥檚 career accomplishments, awards, and/or recognition that demonstrate leadership abilities in a building safety role.
  • The candidate鈥檚 submission of at least three recommendation letters from an immediate supervisor and other community leaders.
  • The candidate鈥檚 submission of a personal statement elaborating on their personal goals and qualifications.
  • The candidate鈥檚 status as a Code Council member and involvement in Code Council programs.
  • The candidate鈥檚 involvement in community, civic, and/or extracurricular ventures or affiliations.
  • Candidate applications must identify up to three eligible programs at the time of application. A candidate does not need to be accepted into an eligible program to qualify for consideration.
  • Awarding of the Fellowship will be contingent upon the candidate鈥檚 acceptance into one of the identified eligible programs within four months of official notification from the Code Council.

After meeting the above criteria, finalists may be subject to an in-person or electronic interview.Please note that the Code Council鈥檚 application and selection process is completely independent from any eligible program鈥檚 application and selection process.

Questions? Contact us at communications@iccsafe.org.